top of page

DESIGN - SENATE HOUSE - RESEARCH

Proposed plan.png

On 10/10/14 I began my research on the Senate House for my current design project. We have a site visit on 17/10/14 and it is imperative that I understand the brief and site as much as possible before I go to make the most of the surveying and touring.

This will aid me to design a successful add on because I will understand the logistics and character of the site location. Furthermore I need to ascertain a specific location which will function well with the existing build.

Below you will find the basic information I have gathered.

• Designed by British Architect Charles Holden

• Opened in 1937

• Architectural style is Art Deco

• It was London’s first skyscraper

• GREEN LIGHT for redevelopment of North Block!

• Consists of 19 floors

• Standing 210ft (64m)

• Constructed mainly from Portland Stone, Travetine Marble, English Walnut (wood) and South American Cypress (wood)

Tomorrow I will be printing out detailed plans and drawings (which are provided by the planning records of Camden council) to further my research and aid my site visit.

•www.soas.ac.uk/northblock/senatehouse/ (Video Tour)

bottom of page