top of page

HISTORY & MATERIALS - ESSAY ASSIGNMENT - PARK HILL

4_815_Park_Hill_070628_N5(2).jpg

I am currently working on my essay assignment for this module which is an analysis of a brutalist building. We were given the choice to pick from Weston Favell Shopping Mall, Greyfriars Bus Station and Park Hill Estate. From this we were given two options per building to choose from.

I have chosen to do Park Hill Estate and my essay requirement is to:

Compare the original Park Hill design with the newer, Urban Splash concept with a focus on the following elements:

  • Plans / Elevations / facades / finishes

  • Construction / materials

  • Stairs, elevators, the subways for pedestrians in the immediate area

  • Wider context – pedestrian walkways

  • Relationship to immediate area (roads, other buildings, landscape, railway station)

  • Should the original 1960s work have been removed so that only the concrete frame remains from the original construction?

  • Does the new remodelling make use of design elements which was not available or possible when first built?

This essay is due in for this Thursday coming ... I better crack on with it instead of blogging I suppose. It's not that I don't find my essay topic interesting, it's just getting them first few sentences started that always feel like climbing Mount Everest to me! ... You can see I do love to procrastinate! ... Anyway, onwards and upwards!

P.s. If I create another blog post in the next couple of hours, you know I haven't progressed much in my essay ... Ooops!

Picture: http://openbuildings.com/buildings/park-hill-sheffield-uk-profile-40479

bottom of page