top of page

SHOCK OF THE NEW - UPDATE


A lot has changed since my previous post on this module ... I've changed my topic of interest to Vertical Gardens, submitted a leaflet, drafted an essay and prepared a presentation that I shall deliver on Thursday 26th!

So ... Quite a lot! I changed my topic from Woodskin to vertical gardens because I thought there would be a wider variety of points to write about when it came to writing the essay. Moreover, I'm planning to include a vertical garden within my design project so I thought it would serve as a dual purpose as I've had to do a lot of research which I would have needed for my design project anyway.

Within my essay and presentation the structure is to be based around 10 points. I have planned so that half is about the technology and the other refers to the social context.

Technology points of discussion:

  • History and the first system

  • Different types of systems available today

  • Types of vegetation and why

  • Research and development

  • Good and poor example case study

Social context points of discussion:

  • The benefits

  • The problems

  • Societies views

  • Life cycle and sustainability

  • The potential future, 'Vegitecture'

The presentation on Thursday is supposed to be around 8-10 minutes (approximately one minute per point) ... Hopefully I don't bore anyone to sleep! ... Wish me luck!

Picture: http://www.verticalgardenpatrickblanc.com/realisations/paris/quai-branly-museum

bottom of page