top of page

DESIGN - VULCAN WORKS - FINAL PRESENTATION


Believe it or not I do have some form of a design project now! It has taken me a long time to get my act together and get involved with this project ... It only takes a major final presentation for it to pull together! This needs to be addressed!

The presentation took place on Friday 15th May. The task for the final presentation was to produce a banner that was equivalent to three A1 pages with subject matter chosen by us so we could present the most relevant points to our critics. It was a struggle for the shorties in the class to pin up ... But we got there in the end, we just needed a ladder and a spare set of hands!

The content I chose to show was to highlight how I am using the site topography, prevailing winds and sun path to my benefit to aid the environment and energy plan of my building spaces. As most pin-ups go ... For me ... They require a sacrifice of no sleep (I know I leave everything to the last minute ... But thats what a typical student does).

Nevertheless ... I believe this has been my most successful pin-up because I managed to fill the paper space with what seemed like relative content and receive a good sense of direction from my critics. To my standards, the banner was not up to scratch and I don't think they will ever be with my time management skills, something I endeavour to work upon! However, I did receive some compliments ... And some constructive critiscism:

  • Produce a selling image/choose one on the banner

  • Show bigger floor plans

  • Add a critical detail junction that is relevant to my project

  • Add depth to my eye level black and white camera views

  • Be more selective with the images I choose/make sure important ones are bigger than others

  • Solidy my energy and environment plan/use technical terms

I believe that the above critiscism is fair and true. My own critiscism would be all of the above and to change my page layout so the selling image is at eye level as this will attract more attention. I feel as though I presented myself well and made sure I was engaging with both the critics and the class. At times I think I'm speaking fast but have not received any complaints as yet but it will be something I will keep an eye on.

Overall it was a successful day except that printing was a palava! However once we all managed we did receive a pat on the back. The critics and my tutor was pleased with the level of outcome and a few of us were out later that night to celebrate ... I really needed to sleep but it was a great opportunity to spend time with my peers not talking about work!

Now it's time for the last push and to get my design project finished!

See you on the flip side!

bottom of page