top of page

FINAL MAJOR PROJECT - 21ST CENTURY TECHNOLOGY

As part of our technical report we had to choose a 21st century technology to write a report on. I have always been intrigued by the product, 'NeverWet', which was introduced to me by my oldest brother Bradley some four years ago. This is a great opportunity to use this interest as part of my research and design work.

NeverWet is a hydrophobic coating that you can spray onto various materials. My design lecturer has approved my chosen idea but has broadened my research by looking at hydrophobic coatings and materials in general and not just specific products. However, as part of a case study it can form part of the report and I thought what better way to do research than to actually test the product! ...

The result is pretty fantastic! ... However, I had realised that I did not do the correct method of spraying. I was supposed to alternate between spraying horizontally and vertically for each coating. In effect I know I have not achieved the best outcome as I can see more of a chalky effect in certain areas. I decided to do it on black card so I could really see the chalky effect that NeverWet has been critiqued upon.

I am still a firm believer in the science behind NeverWet but am disappointed in this flaw ... Lets see what the future brings, perhaps this is a minor bump in the road and will be something that can be overcome!

A video showing NeverWet in all its glory:

bottom of page