top of page

FINAL MAJOR PROJECT - CONCEPT PIN-UP

On Monday 26th October we had to present our three concepts to our client who is working on behalf of the Northampton Borough Council. Our tutor from last year is acting as our client for this hypothetical role.

Treating this project as if it is a real scenario, the client chooses a concept that we must run with for the duration of our final major project. This is great practice for when we start our career.

When I started the process of coming up with the design concepts I leaned towards the trusty pen and paper to map out my general ideas. However, when it came to massing my ideas in any software I came to a halt. How do I get my ideas from paper to software if I don't know how to model it in the software? ... So this cycle happened for a few days, time that I couldn't afford to waste!

In the end I came up with three concepts that were purely derived from what I was capable of doing in Revit, which did not look like any of the design concepts that I had scribbled down in my notebook. I was so worried that I wouldn't be able to generate decent models and visuals that I gave up with them and pitched the three concepts you will see below the text. I went into this presentation knowing that I was not inspired by the designs at all ... Never a good place to be!

Nevertheless, I was complimented on the execution of my presentation except from a team error as some of our functions had overlapped. My client informed me that he liked the idea of the skin being a feature but that altogether he was not convinced with the forms of the concepts. Back to the drawing board I went!

On Monday 2nd November I presented three more concepts, two of which were from my notebook scribbles. My client had opted for number three ... One of my notebook scribbles.

The lesson I have learned and wish for others to seek advice from, is that hand drawings are priceless and are sometimes more valuable than 3D models especially at the conceptual stage of design ... I'm not too sure how I'm going to model the one he chose but that is something to tackle a little later on in the year I guess! ... Fingers crossed!

1ST ATTEMPT - CONCEPT 1

1ST ATTEMPT - CONCEPT 2

1ST ATTEMPT - CONCEPT 3

2ND ATTEMPT

bottom of page